Universalis 1/Scene 5

Материал из RPGround Wiki
Перейти к: навигация, поиск
#1: Sea Battle :: #2: During the Storm:: #3: Separated:: #4: Isle of Teeth:: #5: Morbid Discovery


Framed by GiacomoArt, continued from Scene #3.

Nicole moved on up the beach, satisfied that she didn't want to tangle with a beast the size of that crab in her present condition, and that the coconut trees would still be there if she couldn't find an easier source of fresh water soon. Best, for the moment, to follow the coast -- get out from this inlet, maybe find a promontory to climb, and look for any signs of a stream or even a settlement.

Behind her, as Santiago continued to follow quietly along, he couldn't help but feel that his luck in the light of this new day had continued to hold. If he was going to be shipwrecked, better to be shipwrecked with someone. And if he was going to be shipwrecked with someone, well... despite her bedraggled condition, there was no mistaking, this was a fine figure of a woman. Dangerous, too, to be sure -- not some damosel who'd been held captive on the sloop; her attire and movements, even the determined set to her jaw, clearly marked her as a full member of the crew -- but he hadn't set out for the New World because he liked to play things safe. No matter how things played out from here, she would certainly provide an interesting twist to this latest adventure.

Rounding the mouth of the inlet, Nicole did indeed spy high ground up ahead. Catching a second wind at the sight of it, she moved on with a renewed sense of purpose.

Bidding for the scene[править]


I bid !four coins! on the new scene. I must say that my wealth encourages me for complications. Please, spill your thoughts. Yay or nay?

EvilCat 09:21, 22 April 2009 (UTC)


I'll bid !15 coins!.

What I found when I had low wealth and introduced a complication was that it provided me with a handy way to do SOMETHING, but it didn't really rebuild my wealth at all. I was still trapped into introducing more and more complications just to participate, or else end the scene.

I took time out to re-build my wealth so that I could try introducing complications with some forethought this time. I have hopes it will work better that way. And if not, I should still learn something new about using complications.  :o)

-- 15:43, 22 April 2009 (UTC)


And I'll bid !zero coins!. Looks like the scene goes to G.

Happy to enter into complications as you wish. I'm more interested in trying things than being overly worried about the outcome. I don't see any point in feeling hamstrung by a lack of coins if it is a collective concern. Is it permitted to spend a coin on a rules gimmick to give everyone a bonus 10 coins as a one off gift going into the next scene (i.e. refresh of 18 this round)? Feel free to veto this if you disagree for any reason. (My rules book arrived today, so I will finally be able to start learning the rules in a more rigorous manner). Neonwhite 17:00, 22 April 2009 (UTC)


I feel like I can take you both on with my 8 coins! And I'm interested in seeing how a complication resolves in a situation of coin inequality. Generating coins is one of its purposes, I want to try it. (I copypasted an article on complications for inspiration.)

EvilCat 17:20, 22 April 2009 (UTC)



Morbid Sight Complication[править]

EvilCat's orginating[править]

  • corpse (3 coins)
  • crabs (1 coin)

Event (1 coin): The smell wafted to Nicole.
-5 coins, Coin.gif3 left.

Complication: a morbid scene to instill dread, 5 dice. Traits drawn: corpse, stench, ugly, crabs, tired.

The way to the cliff's top was a gentle slope, easy enough for aching legs. It was a sure walk. Then, the wind has turned, and Nicole noticed a strange smell. After a few steps, it became more evident, and grew overwhelming another few steps later: a rotting stench with a hint of sweat. It obviously came from a pile at the surf. Casting her tired eyes to the shoreline, Nicole noticed a busy movement...

The pile turned out a decomposing corpse of some hairy creature. Two black crabs, smaller than the last one, was nipping its crimson flesh. The only eye, the color of gold, was staring back at Nicole, and uneven teeth grinned in a crazy smile.

Neonwhite passed.


Well, she's a named character with a "strong spirit", so that's 2 dice right there. Methinks another die is appropriate for "cruel", which has to make her less prone to internalizing any horrors that might happen around her. I'm also going to pay Coin.gif1 to officially establish that she's "a veteran of many battles", because she sure didn't get to be a pirate queen without that, and it'd make her pretty jaded about corpses and such.

That's 4 dice, then, and I don't see any call for pushing it farther.

I'm down to Coin.gif14, and committed to spending Coin.gif9 more on the scene.


I would probably have stepped in at this point (to take control of Santiago and to move the scene forward), however with no interrupts I am not sure I am able as it is Cat's turn now.

Anyway, I don't feel strongly about the outcome, so I am happy to remain on the sidelines and support neither pool. A couple of other components might come into play, however:

  • Clear blue sky in support of Nicole (and Santiago)
  • If Santiago is considered a target too, his sense of foreboding and dread may count against him.

Cat, I suppose it is obvious that the source of the obstacle is the corpse + stench, however is the target intended to be Nicole alone or Nicole + Santiago?

Neonwhite 07:11, 26 April 2009 (UTC)


Now that I read the rules better, I'd like to refine the tenet: you can't interrupt in mid-narration, simply by virtue of this being a post-by-play game, but you can usurp turn for 1 coin as usual. This is what I meant originally. So, you can take your turn and add to narration.

Currently, the target of the complication is just Nicole. See felt the stench and saw the corpse because of "stench wafted to Nicole" event. If you take over Santiago and make him notice the scene too (as I see it, he's quite far behind), you can use him in complication and he'll become a target, too. Hehehe %)

EvilCat 10:20, 26 April 2009 (UTC)


The clear blue sky makes sense to me, and I'm happy to take it, so 5 dice to 5 dice. Are we ready to resolve?

--GiacomoArt 13:08, 27 April 2009 (UTC)

Ошибка создания миниатюры: Файл не найден
EvilCat's roll


Since NeonWhite didn't step in, we are.

I roll Dice.gif5... 1, 1, 2, 4, 6. Four successes.

EvilCat 14:40, 27 April 2009 (UTC)


And I roll... so well it makes me wish we had a shared virtual table to preserve our dice on. I could make one, but then I could hack it effortlessly, too, so that doesn't help me personally. Anyone know of an existing place we could use?

Dice.gif5... 4, 4, 1, 4, 1. Five successes. Anyway, that gives me the resolution and Coin.gif14, doubling my reserves, with Coin.gif5 going to EvilCat.

--GiacomoArt 15:59, 27 April 2009 (UTC)


Well, at least I returned the coins I spent %)

RPTools has tools for online gaming, but so far I used only dicetool (see above). A table for dice rolls, card draws and hidden notes is one of the features I want to code for my server... But this way I can hack it effortlessly, and you know that sometimes my server is down... Your (and NeonWhite's) call.

EvilCat 17:08, 27 April 2009 (UTC)


We could use http://dicelog.com/dice. I'll wait for G's resolution and then take my turn as usual. Neonwhite 17:46, 27 April 2009 (UTC)

After G's (winner's) resolution there is my (loser's) resolution, and then turns proceed as usual. From the example in the book (revised pg.116), after the last loser finishes narrating his resolution, it's his normal turn, then the next player's, and so on. EvilCat 18:21, 27 April 2009 (UTC)

GiacomoArt's resolution[править]


  • Strong stomach (1)

Change Location to…

  • rocky promontory (1)

Exit: Coconut palms, Coconut thief crab, Barrel, Corpse, Crabs
Total cost: Coin.gif7. Coin.gif21 remaining, Coin.gif2 still to committed to the scene.

I don't have the book at hand to refer to, but thought I should do my best to keep things moving. Hope I didn't overlook anything with the resolution...

"Tough luck, pooch," Nicole muttered, unmoved by the gruesome sight, but happy to put more distance between herself and the stench as she headed on toward the high ground.

--GiacomoArt 20:31, 27 April 2009 (UTC)

EvilCat's resolution[править]

  • 1 coin to make "dog corpse" a master component.
    • Contagious (1 coin)

New traits:

  • Tropical beach (2 coins) - littered with rotting dog things, lines the land (replaces "along the inlet"?).

Coin.gif4 spent, 4 left. Neon's turn.

From the high point, Nicole could see a long beach lining the land she was washed to. The bleached color of sand was spoiled here and there with dark spots: flotsam, coconuts, seaweed, the late pooch... And one more at the other side of the cliff... And what might have been several corpses piled together, considering the number of crabs feasting there... Something took lives of these beasts, easily a plague.

EvilCat 20:59, 27 April 2009 (UTC)

Perception Complication[править]

GiacomoArt's originating[править]

Well, let's not take his [Santiago's] success for granted any longer: I say prove it as a complication, with Santiago trying to prove Nicole remain oblivious to him as a fellow component of the scene. I figure that's a simple 1 die for me (named character) / 2 die for Neonwhite (named character + practiced in stealth) resolution.

--GiacomoArt 21:13, 28 April 2009 (UTC)


Nothing in the original rules says that a player can't draw upon traits in favor of a dicepool he isn't involved in, and revised rules explicitly allow it. So, I'd say that Nicole's condition, "tired" and "sore", adds 2 dice to Santiago's side.

EvilCat 22:17, 28 April 2009 (UTC)


Ok, four dice for me then. I have rolled at https://dicelog.com/logdice.

5 + 5 + 3 + 1 = 4 successes.

Both of you will have to register first in order to view the dicelog. Once you do so let me know your email address and I will set-up your email account to be able to view the log. (Cat, I have already given access to 'soevilcat@gmail.com' but let me know if you wish to register using a different email address). G., I will need your email address.

Neonwhite 23:07, 28 April 2009 (UTC)


What a beautiful yet functional service! Gmail e-mail is ok, don't change it.

Actually, GiacomoArt can't beat 4 successes with 1 die or add dice to a complication in the mid of its resolution. (Rules-wise, he can challenge my draw, but I don't see any ground for that.) Regardless of his roll, he gets Coin.gif1 for his one die, and you get Coin.gif14, the sum of your successes. You can narrate the outcome.

EvilCat 23:39, 28 April 2009 (UTC)


I didn't think about it at the time, however I shouldn't have started the resolution until he agreed the dice pool was closed (after you submitted the two extra traits for Santiago he may have wanted to add dice in support of Nicole). I'd like to hear from him that he is ok to let things proceed. If he wants to submit extra dice, I can reroll... 07:42, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


I thought about something, too. The way it is now, the complication is a simple skill check. It's not dramatic, the question of whether Nicole will notice hiding Santiago is not significant to the story overall. I'd propose a Rules Gimmick: in this case, the bonus coins not spent on narrating the outcome are lost.

If the situation changes (complication is not petty anymore) or anyone challenges, I withdraw my proposal. It's not jealousy of wealth or something %)

EvilCat 09:52, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


I will challenge that gimmick (and only partly out of self interest)! We are not contesting whether Nicole notices Santiago, we are contesting the opportunity to narrate the outcome of the complication. It is up to the winning player (and the losing player) to do that narration in a suitably dramatic and plot-furthering manner . The challenge may seem trivial but the outcome can be anything but trivial. 11:22, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


As per said above, challenge sustained %) Just wanted to make sure we won't use itty-bitty complications as coin generators...

EvilCat 12:06, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


GiacomoArt is also my gmail.com account.

And just to keep things interesting (which was indeed the point, and calling for a 1D to 4D complication IS just giving away charity coins) I do want to pay for a couple of dice, which brings us to a 3D/4D complication.

  • Nicole's on high ground (good view).
  • A stone on the ascent up the rocky promontory slips under Santiago's foot, clattering away down the hill.

That brings me down to Coin.gif19 and fulfills my commitment to the scene.

Anything more?

GiacomoArt 13:44, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


I pass. 14:54, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


G..., you can't introduce an event relevant to the complication for a component you don't control... so I would challenge you on the stones slipping under Santiago's feet as not allowable...

Neonwhite 21:29, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


I'd say that it's not an event, it's "buying dice directly" (revised pg. 103): buying dice allow players to purchase modifiers for features, advantages, or disagvantages that are temporary to the scene. EvilCat 21:38, 29 April 2009 (UTC)


Yes, I was using the rules for buying dice directly, which dictate that you have to provide a narrative justification temporary to the scene. I was also careful to word it so that the terrain (which I currently control) betrayed Santiago, so as to not ascribe an action to him. I stand by the validity of it. 03:39, 30 April 2009 (UTC)


Ok, I have added you to the dice server and you should see it now when you log-in with your Gmail address.

I am happy with the complication as it stands (4 dice against 3). For the sake of getting on with it(!) I have rerolled my four dice.

4 + 8 + 4 + 8 = 2 successes (see the dice server for confirmation).

Let's see how you go G. 08:03, 30 April 2009 (UTC)


I was better off when I accidentally rolled just one die! :oD

Zero successes, so Coin.gif3 for me -- bringing me back to Coin.gif22 -- and NeonWhite gets Coin.gif8 plus narration rights.

NeonWhite's resolution[править]

(No successes hmmm, some implications for Nicole then!)

Nicole continued to trek uphill, eventually reaching a rocky promontory where she paused for a moment to look out at the sea. Santiago likewise followed her in the climb. When the stone slipped its clattering down the hill clearly carried across the short distance separating Nicole and him.

Nicole spun in surprise and laid eyes directly on a startled Santiago. In doing so, however, the same ground that had betrayed Santiago, betrayed her. The loose ground at her feet gave way and, with a scream, she slipped backwards and over the edge of the cliff.

Though fearing the worst, Santiago's approach and glance over the edge showed that she had managed to grab hold of the rocky slopes and was holding on grimly. A smile played over Santiago's lips as he considered the possibilities. "Of course I will help you up, as I would any maiden in such desperate need of a man's help, but first you will swear only to aid me until we are off this cursed island."

Nicole's eyes burned hot with fury at his patronising tone but seeing no other choice, she nodded once in agreement to his demand.

Bracing himself, Santiago leaned forwards and, taking hold of Nicole's arm, swung her onto the clifftop with a single fluid motion.

"And I.... am Santiago" he said, with just a hint of mockery in the tone of his voice and the formality of his slight bow.

Traits: (3)

  • Nicole - promise to aid Santiago (1)
  • Santiago - teasing nature (1), deceptively strong (1),

Events: (5)

  • Nicole hears the stone dislodged by Santiago (1)
  • Loose ground gives way at her feet when she spins and Nicole falls over the cliff (1)
  • Nicole holds onto the rocky slopes (1)
  • Santiago initiates dialogue (1)
  • Santiago rescues Nicole from the cliff (1)

Coin.gif8 used. Still at Coin.gif13 altogether.

Also, one clarification please: is it permitted to spend more coins in the resolution than those earned? If so, I may have bought an additional trait for Nicole.

Finally, does anyone mind if I clear all of the posts from the dicelog, so we start with a fresh page. The test posts disturb my sense of orderliness!

Neonwhite 16:57, 30 April 2009 (UTC)


That answer is: no, you can't add coins from wealth to bonus coins. See panel on revised pg. 109, clause 7. In 1st edition book it's less obvious, but still there (pg.62, clause 7, emphasis "Winning player used Coins received").

EvilCat 18:52, 30 April 2009 (UTC)


To avoid stalling, the next is GiacomoArt's outcome narration, then my normal turn. EvilCat 21:48, 30 April 2009 (UTC)

GiacomoArt's resolution[править]

Not going to bother putting it in prose: just assign a couple of traits to Nicole:

  • Doesn't give a fig about any promise given under duress.
  • Wants Santiago's blood (x2)

That's all Coin.gif3 for the complication. Back to Coin.gif19.

GiacomoArt 01:36, 1 May 2009 (UTC)